Bark!

I heard a noise. I have to bark.

I heard a noise. I have to bark.

Did you hear it? Bark! Bark!

 

Hush, you don’t need to bark.

 

I heard a noise. I have to bark.

I heard a noise. I have to bark.

It’s my job! Bark! Bark!

 

Shh, you don’t need to bark.

 

I heard a noise. I have to bark.

I heard a noise. I have to bark.

Something went bump. Bark! Bark!

 

Come back to bed. Don’t bark.

 

I heard a noise. I have to bark.

I heard a noise. I have to bark.

Do you hear it? Bark! Bark!

 

I can’t hear a thing if you’re going to bark.

 

I heard a noise. I have to bark.

I heard a noise. I have to bark.

I can’t help it. Bark! Bark!

 

Shh, you don’t need to bark.

 

I heard a noise. I have to bark.

I heard a noise. I have to bark.

I must protect my human. Bark! Bark!

 

Come back to bed. Don’t bark.

 

I heard a noise. I have to bark.

I heard a noise. I have to bark.

There was a noise! Bark! Bark!

 

How can I hear anything if you are barking?

 

I heard a noise. I have to bark.

I heard a noise. I have to bark.

I must alert. Bark! Bark!

 

I know it’s your job to alert me of any sound.

I made that sound. I don’t need an alert.

 

You don’t have to answer the dog that lives a half block away.

Do you know what he’s saying? Do you even speak Labrador?

 

It’s the mailman. He comes every day.

He’s not stealing my porch or my mailbox.

 

The cat is allowed to play with his toy in the other room.

It’s his toy. There is no need to tell me about it.

 

You’re a chicken, a noisy chicken.

A super coward to the nth degree.

 

You’re not a watchdog. I never asked you to be.

A real threat and you are under the sofa.

 

You’re such a good girl. You scared them away.

Please let me sleep. You don’t need to bark.

 

I heard a noise. I have to bark.

I heard a noise. I have to bark.

I can’t help it! Bark! Bark!

 

Aargh!!

6 Responses to Bark!

  1. Peggy says:

    I have a retired racing greyhound . A lovely sweet natured affectionate one as most of the breed are. However, they do not make particularly good watch dogs as they are not barkers! She has been with me 9 1/2 yrs. and possibly barked a dozen times during those years. And I have never heard her growl.–my little Peke-a-poo was the one who indeed spent 90% of her time barking!

    Like

    • E. Ayers says:

      I swear the small dogs bark all the time. And she puts everything she has into it. Her little back feet actually lift off the ground with each bark. Why? All day and all night. If there is a sound, she barks.

      Like

      • Peggy says:

        oh I remember the back feet coming off the ground with the barking!–Ms GiGi didn’t need a sound to set her off! –a bird flying by, butterflies flitting about–even a bug skittering across the lawn would cause a furor of barking! –maybe that’s why I find the greyhounds’ quietness such a change!

        Like

        • E. Ayers says:

          Remind me to get a greyhound the next time!

          But she was so tiny and she needed a home and someone to love her and I’m such a sucker for a little fur with round eyes. LOL

          I had an extremely effective barking doorbell, I just didn’t realize I was adopting First Alert! Even my Boxer would raise her head from her nap and look at her with pleading eyes. At least the Boxer knew when to bark! LOL

          Like

  2. It isn’t just my small dogs but it does describe one of my guys to a T. Of course the others all follow him.

    Like

Leave a Reply

