Moving Along

Wedding Vow 3, To Have & To Hold is done! Well, it’s written. It’s going to my editor. A beta reader said she laughed and thoroughly enjoyed it. Great! It’s not fluffy, or a comedy, but there are funny moments in it.

My historical western, set in Creed’s Crossing, Wyoming, is almost completed. I’m near the end, and so far, I’m quite happy with it.

That doesn’t mean I get to slack off. No way! I’ll be teaching a series of workshops for the City of Portsmouth, Virginia library system in March. I’ll give you more on that later. So far I only have dates March 7, 14, 21, and 28, and that it will cover writing a novel from start to finish. Lots of info to cram into four weeks.

I’ll be posting the covers and blurbs for both books here as soon as I have them. February will be busy but not as bad as December and January – I hope.

Yes, I know all about what happened in the Superbowl game. A friend sent me a detailed explanation – um…if you understand the game then I guess it makes sense. But I’ve never been a football fan. I have no idea what a down means so I’m hopeless!  Don’t tell me they are wearing blue – they both were wearing blue! Oh, the shirt.

And a guy by the name of Brady was playing and he has a brother who also plays. Apparently they are good guys. I’m just happy to hear there are good guys playing the game, because it seems like so many of them aren’t.

To play the game, the guys start out in the center and try to get the ball to the other side by kicking it or throwing it through the goal posts, or carrying it over a line.  It’s the other team’s job to prevent it by tackling them and send them to the ground by creating a massive pile of humans. And that is my knowledge of football.

I’m slightly better with baseball. I understand that game. The pitcher tries to throw a ball that no one can hit with a baseball bat. If the ball is hit and it doesn’t go in the proper direction, it’s called a foul. If it goes where it should and someone catches it, that person with the bat is out. If they grab it eventually, they have to throw it to someone who tries to tag the runner with the ball, or sends it to the base where the guy is running. At least they don’t tackle him or try to “hit” him with the ball. It’s a more civilized sport.

They tried to teach me to play team sports in school. Funny thing, I could run like the wind and I can throw a baseball, but I was lousy at everything except pitching. You want me to put the ball where? Fast or slow? Okay. It’s a skill that comes in handy when trying to get rid of dust webs on the ceiling with a tennis ball draped in an old sock.

🙂

2 Responses to Moving Along

  1. Peggy says:

    It is considered blasphemous here in Texas but I am thoroughly convinced that any game adults play with a ball is stupid!!!—used to sort of watch basketball until the players started wearing those long baggy shorts that look like the players borrowed them from their huge football playing brothers.

    Like

    • E. Ayers says:

      Texas is the football state!

      I can’t think of another sport that wears baggy clothes like that. At least we can be grateful they wear their pants above their hips!

      Like

Leave a Reply

