How do you autograph an ebook?

It’s not easy, but I figured out a way to do it.

The easiest way is to use authorgraph.

http://www.authorgraph.com/

The reader can look up a favorite author and have them autograph the book. The sad thing is that what the reader gets is a separate page.

I figured out a way to give an autographed copy. I make a jgp of the book cover ( 500×800 pixels), and I autograph it using the text feature in my jpg creator.  As for my signature, I can’t do that with a mouse.  My signature using a mouse looks as though I taught a chicken cursive. To get around that, I wrote my name on paper and scanned it in as a jpg. Then I added it to my jpg. Now I can write in the jpg using the text feature 2Brandiand personalize the jpg to the reader. (This is an actual jpg of what I gave to a fan inside the ebook.)

After it is completed I save it and add it to the front of my book while the book is still a MS Word doc file. (Insert jpg onto a blank page) I save the whole document as a html (web page). That I send to Calibre and convert it to a mobi, epub, or pdf. Now I have an autographed copy that I can give to someone.

It’s quite time consuming but its doable. I happen to think it’s a nice way to personalize a book for a reader.

I will say that many authors have problems with using Calibre and that’s because Calibre requires a very clean copy that doesn’t have a lot of extra stuff tucked in the pages.  I’ve never had a problem with it.  It’s a free piece of software and easy to use.

http://calibre-ebook.com/

The other thing that can be done is to put the book on a CD/DVD  and sign the disk.  There are also plenty of fun things such as business cards and postal cards up to rack-sized cards that can be made and handed or snail mailed to someone. Check out places such as VistaPrint for great deals.

http://www.vistaprint.com

That brings me to my next problem. I’m looking for ways to support my local libraries through Friends of the Library.  Check with your local library to see if they have such a thing. Friends of the Library are usually OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAresponsible for brings books to people who have no access to them, they open the doors for children to explore, and help to keep the libraries’ doors open. Especially now with funding being so tight, more people than ever rely on the library and the libraries are suffering under budget cuts.

From movies to audio books, your local library has it. They are also bringing in ebooks. The library has served me, and my family, well over the years. If I’m in a position to give back to them, I will.

I’m not sure what I will be doing but I think I will be giving the Friends of the Library several signed copies of my ebooks.

15 Responses to How do you autograph an ebook?

  1. jlm12 says:

    E.

    I just added this app to my Author’s page app. Can’t wait to see how it turns out.

    Thanks,

    Janet

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Like

  2. jlm12 says:

    E,

    Yes. that’s the site I found too.

    Janie Lee

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Like

  3. Great autograph idea, Elizabeth! Very creative. 🙂

    Like

  4. I recently heard my local libraries are getting into ebooks more and more. Adding a signature is a very interesting way to go. Thanks for the tip!

    Like

  5. Yes, very creative. I’ll have to try it.

    Like

  6. melissakeir says:

    I’ve been a member of Authorgraph for years but it’s the same as the paper book. I do like your idea but that works for self-pubbed. I can’t do that to my books with other publishers. They only send me the PDF, but I do think maybe your idea of the scanned image of the cover and signature would be great to send along with the book.

    Like

  7. Carol says:

    I added Authorgraph to my website and Facebook today. Easy. You really figured out how to bypass and do-it-yourself! Congrats! By the way, if anyone knows how to change the message to a reader Authorgraph required to send, please let me know. I haven’t found anywhere I can do that. Thanks, E.

    Like

  8. Daryl Devore says:

    Thanks for the suggestions.

    Like

Leave a Reply

