A Wonderful Review

There is nothing greater anyone can do for an author than to write a wonderful review. It’s true!  I’m smack in the middle of several deadlines with more on my plate than hours in a day. Prioritize! Thus my being AWOL on my blog. Sorry, folks! (Did I tell you I’m getting ready to release 3 books, plus I’m part of the Authors of Main Street and we’re about to release a boxed set? June is going to be very hectic with releases!)

There was a huge Indie Facebook party on Thursday. Over 50 of us grouped together and did some super giveaways. It was fun meeting everyone and seeing a few favorite readers. But after almost nine hours of being glued in front of the computer with no real relief, my head was pounding. There was paperwork to submit with winners names and what they got. By that time, I was cross eyed with exhaustion. (Maybe I need new glasses?) So what do I always do at the end of the day? I check my sale stats. It didn’t matter how tired I was, I checked them. Guess what I found?

I’ll be honesARWlandspe 400 x 600t, A Rancher’s Woman has had one heck of a slow start. Yet, it’s had rave reviews. I worked hard to create a story set in 1896. So much research! And it’s not a fluffy story. I just don’t write pretty little heroines who need a hunky man to take care of them. And the women in this story aren’t running around on the range in pretty silk dresses. If that’s what you want to read, skip mine, because you won’t like it. I wrote a true-to-life Victorian western. And to make matters worse, the hero is a Crow Indian.

Love reading stories where the American Indian is the hero and the pretty white woman is destined to be his mate? Think twice! Such a pairing was illegal. Punishable by death. Was the law defied? Yes. Today in our melting-pot world we think nothing of such things. But prejudice was rampant back then. (Now, I’m off subject!)

So there I was totally dog tired the other night after the party and I spotted a review. I just had to click through to read it. I burst into tears. There’s no way to thank a reviewer. I’ve had fabulous reviews that were well written. And I thank everyone who has ever left a four or five star  review for me!  It means the world to me! But I’ve never had such a heart-felt review by a reader.  I just have to share it here. I could give you the blurb, but I think the review is better. And if you like this one, there are ten more wonderful reviews on this book!

“I have just finished A Rancher’s Woman. I will have to admit to being biased, though. My husband was an American Indian. So, I was in awe of this story. Not many people could fit our past with romance the way it was told in this book. This author should be praised and APPRECIATED for the history she wrote while intertwinning romantic interludes. I would not have stayed up this late reading unless the book was dang good. Was it ever. These last few hours of reading left me with a sense of satisfaction and enjoyment. It is impossible for me to use words here, becaus there is no words to descibe just how much this book filled me with just feelings. Ms. Ayers, thank you for sharing this story. I will always remember this book and look forward to rereading it again.”

Stop in Monday and I’ll show off my covers this coming week for my new releases in June!

 

 

3 Responses to A Wonderful Review

  1. Missy Lou says:

    my mother and father’s marriage was illegal because she was Anglo and he was considered a “half breed” even though he never saw a Rez and had nothing to do with the BIA or anything else connected to his Cherokee heritage because he was raised “totally white”. Actually so called mixed marriages were still illegal until the 1960’s and later.–would have to look it up to be sure of the exact dates.–some states took longer than others to rescind the miscegenation laws.

    Like

    • E. Ayers says:

      I feel sorry for your parents and what they must have gone through. I’m sure your father probably stood on his head to cover the fact that he was mixed.

      There was a huge campaign in the late 1960’s to get people to accept the American Indians as “normal” people. I think that’s when the term Native American came into being. It made them sound more “normal”, like “real” people.

      Today, for most of us, it seems so silly that such prejudice existed. Unfortunately it still does. Laws can be changed but we can’t force people to change their minds.
      Thanks for stopping, Missy Lou.

      Like

  2. leighmorgan1 says:

    I love your wedding covers, E. They are rich and beautiful and really convey a sweet and happy mood. Looking forward to reading!

    Like

Leave a Reply

