What are you reading?

Considering I just finished a manuscript, I have something I want to read – Stephanie Queen’s book, THE ROMANTICS. She’s a USA Today best seller! And it’s easy to see why.Image

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00GW3TV18

Stephanie writes great stories so I’m looking forward to this. (I just wish I could type as fast as I read.) But it will be nice to snuggle with a good book and put my own writing behind me for a few days. I’ve got several books sitting on the top of my TBR (to be read) pile. I plan to knock out that TBR pile over the next two days.

Life is too short to read a bad book! If you don’t like it, go read another. There’s too many great books to spend your time reading ones that don’t appeal. If I’m not into it by the first 25-30 pages, I’ll skip to the end and call it quits.

And if you like a book, do the author a favor and write a review!  Three sentences. It’ll take you two minutes. Is it the first or the fifth book your read by this author? Do you love the hero? Or do you love the heroine? Is this a genre you normally read? It means the world to the author to have good reviews!

If you hate the book, then why did you read it? Okay, there’s a spelling error on page 26 – it happens! Seriously! These books are converted from doc. files to .mobi or .epub. It might be speled correctly in the .doc but something happens along the way. Letters get dropped or changed. Thumb becomes thump! Or in my case, boots became books. Don’t choke an author over a misspelling! I’m finding less mistakes in Indie books than I am in those put out by the big legacy publishers. Have a giggle over the misspelling and don’t worry about it.

What are you reading?

 

 

6 Responses to What are you reading?

  1. leighmorgan1 says:

    I’ve got Stephanie’s book on my list too…it’s next! I usually give a book about 50 pages before calling it quits unless I really hate it, but that number is getting shorter all the time.

    Like

    • E. Ayers says:

      I’ve started it and I promise you won’t be putting it down. She’s got such a nice easy style, yet keeps you glued to the story.

      Like

  2. Missy Lou says:

    for 20+ years I had little time for recreational reading due to professional reading and writing that had to be done, Now that I’m retired I find myself reading what my literature teaching daughter calls fluff! I am currently reading in the genre of “cozy mysteries”. Next week it may be historical novels, the week after perhaps modern romances. I usually read 2-4 books a day on my Nook as well as 2-3 a day library books—I speed read as you can probably tell. No, reading isn’t all I do! I write poetry as well as judging poetry contests, I edit/correct articles for a local monthly entertainment magazine, Plus I crochet many things .I also travel, belong to the Red Hat Society and several poetry groups. The last book I read before starting the current genre was Somerset by Leila Meacham.a local author who also wrote Roses and Tumbleweeds. This trilogy told the story of some of the early settlers in TEXAS which is of particular interest to me, a 5th generation TEXAN. And as you may have noticed I still suffer from TL syndrome!!—translation for TL=Teaching and Lecturing! which many interpret as being wordy!!

    Like

    • E. Ayers says:

      We all need a little fluff, it’s our way to escape. Try one of Lois Winston’s cozies.

      And any time you feel like lecturing on our American Indians, let me know and you can guest on my blog!

      Like

  3. stephaniequeen says:

    E., Thank you for taking the time to read The Romantics!
    I’m with you on not finishing books that don’t hook me in some way–either with the writing or the characters or the plot or the emotion or something!
    I’m REALLY looking forward to Weddings on Main Street to tell the truth! I’ll need a break from writing by then to sit back and read the anthology of wedding novellas!
    Stephanie Queen

    Like

    • E. Ayers says:

      I had so much fun reading all the Christmas books in the Authors Of Main Street boxed set. How did we get so lucky as to collect such an outstanding group of writers? We really are the lucky baker’s dozen of thirteen authors. Every book in the boxed set was great and all so very different. Don’t look for it now, it’ll be back in time for Christmas.

      For those who don’t know us, please drop over to http://authorsofmainstreet.wordpress.com and follow us there and pointing wildly to the top of this page, sign up for our newsletter. We sneak peek things there to our readers and have special things just for them.
      🙂

      I’m loving your book!

      Like

Leave a Reply

