In a Corner

Fortunately, I’ve never had a case of writer’s block. But I have written myself into a corner and then sat back wondering how much of the story I’d have to strip away to fix it. I didn’t mean to make a mess of A Cowboy’s Kiss in Wyoming, but I had Chessie Chesterfield sitting next to Derrick McCullough, and the entire family of McCulloughs had been    playing a joke on this little visiting North Carolinian who knew nothing about anything western. She had been fed sausage at supper, and they led her to believe is was rattle snake. Well, when it came out that it had all been a joke, Chessiesaddle retaliated and punched Derrick in his thigh. It wasn’t meant to hurt, she’s not much bigger than a fly, and he’s a tough ex-bull rider. But she punched and he tried to conceal horrendous pain, well beyond anything her little swat could have caused.

Uh-oh! Now what? What did I do? I put myself in the corner with no way out. I write by the seat of my pants. I knew where the story was going, but normally I’m just the stenographer for my characters. They looked at me, and I looked at them, and we all shrugged. I’m trying to explain to Chessie that she can’t hit Derrick, and he’s swearing she didn’t actually hurt him – well, except she did. So if I take the punch out… DeHeelsrrick is livid. He’s in pain and it’s not going away. Whatever went wrong with his leg would go wrong someplace else. “Everybody, go to sleep and we’ll discuss this tomorrow night.”

Luckily I still had my day job. It was an odd legal job that involves medical records. I worked for a local hospital and several large medical practices in the area. One of those medical practices was sports medicine. It just happened that’s where I was the next day. I breezed through the door, gathered my charts, and began much like any other day. One of the women who worked there asked what I was writing this time. I looked at her and groaned. “You won’t believe what I did…”

She swore she knew exactly what happened to Derrick and how Chessie’s little punch triggered it. As promised, the next day she had it all laid out for me. For the record, I’m not a blood and guts person. I don’t want to see pictures of surgeries or even neatly sutured skin. Too late. I had everyone in there excited about what I was writing. The one doc was dragging me around showing file000480371600me X-rays, surgical photos, more photos, post op photos, more photos, more X-rays, (my stomach is ready to pitch everything including last week’s chicken lo mien) and he’s handing me samples of artificial hip joints and explaining which one was given to a grandmother and which one would be given to an Olympic athlete or my young ex-bull rider. The therapy folks were in on it, telling me how long and what.

If he has surgery in the morning, we’ve got him on his feet that evening. Next day, he’s walking with help. He’s going to be… Okay, my head was spinning. I’m taking notes. Notes that I will never need to write the story, I got an education in hip replacement! I came home and explained to bootsDerrick that he’s got to have surgery.  Ever see a grown man have a fit? Oh, he had one. He didn’t want anything to do with going to a hospital. He’d been down that road, been addicted to pain killers, ruined his marriage over it, etc. Too bad. I let him sleep on it. When he got up the next morning, he knew he had to go to the hospital.

I live in a populated area with a dozen universities, lots of hospitals, etc. I write about no man’s land in Wyoming. Uh-oh.

I love the Internet! I start looking.  No sports medicine centers. Huh? Okay I found a physio-rehab center and called. The place is smaller than my local YMCA. That’s it! There is no other. It’s the only place my hero could go to be rehab-ed after surgery. I double checked everything with the woman who runs the place. She confirmed every step and even gave me a few extra tidbits. Those cowboys are a tough and stubborn lot, and they think they can jump back in the saddle long before the doctor releases them. If they do, they will probably wind up in surgery again. Her descriptions of the hip movement helped A Cowboy's Kiss in Wyomingme accurately write a few scenes.

My local sports medicine people were thrilled. For weeks, they spoon-fed me information on hip replacements. And naturally, before the book released, they all wanted to read it just to be certain I was accurate.

Maybe creating a conundrum was the best thing that could have happened. The book spent over seven months on Amazon’s top 100 western romances and most of that time it was in the top 30.

10 Responses to In a Corner

  1. Wonderful post. I’m so happy the book did so well, but, well you are a talented writer. Hope your hero followed his doctors instructions and didn’t end up in the hospital again.

    Like

  2. E. Ayers says:

    This was his second time around with his leg. He wasn’t going to blow it. He also didn’t want to blow his chances with Chessie, but he really didn’t know how to tell her how much he cared for her.

    Thanks so much for your kind words, Cindy. I happen to be a fan of yours. You can write a feisty heroine and cowboy who is worth it.
    🙂

    Like

  3. Very nice. I really enjoyed that story..interesting to know the inside scoop!

    Like

  4. Jane Leopold Quinn says:

    It’s amazing the lengths an author will go through to get her people out of a jam. I’ve talked to cops and once I called a Corvette dealership to ask the service guy a question. It’s all fun.

    Like

  5. E. Ayers says:

    Rose, getting the inside scoop on a story is always fun. I love reading the Genesis of a Book on Exquisite Quills’ blog. http://exquisitequills.blogspot.com/ Where stories come from is very interesting.

    Like

  6. E. Ayers says:

    Oh, Jane, it really is amazing how many willingly will give you their time. You like keeping things very realistic, too. That accuracy shows.

    Like

  7. okwriter says:

    I enjoyed your post. Isn’t it great to have friends and co-workers who can help you out? Thanks for sharing. Beverley

    Like

  8. Calisa Rhose says:

    I love this story of getting your hero to rehab! Cute and fun. Now I want to read the book. 🙂 Do you write western-westerns, or contemporary westerns?

    Like

    • E. Ayers says:

      Western- westerns? How much further west? I have a historical western. A Rancher’s Woman grew out of a short story in Sweetwater Springs Christmas with Debra Holland and friends.

      She knew I was working on the Diary of Clare Coleman mentioned in A Snowy Christmas in Wyoming. So I put that manuscript to one side to write the short using the grandson of Clare Coleman for the short and then I had to write A Rancher’s Woman.

      Now I’m under a deadline for three non-westerns and the diary is waiting for my return! I don;t really consider the Diary or A Rancher’s Woman to be romances under the rules for romance because they are more encompassing than just being a romance.

      Thanks for stopping, Calisa, and catching up on my older posts.

      Like

Leave a Reply

