Spring is Coming

February is drawn to a close.  I’m looking towards Spring and the time for renewals.  I’m tired of the cold, but not ready for summer’s heat.  Each season has delicious and delightful qualities. Spring is filled with lovely flowers, lots of wind, and plenty of rain.  I’m not anxious for more rain, we’ve had plenty of moisture this winter, but I a looking forward to the warmer days and the bright sunshine.

Daffodils have a way of making me smile. My February Golds are creating Daffodilwaves of yellow in my yard and there’s something about those golden yellow flowers that make me smile.  Daffodils and dandelions, it must be the color! I know dandelions are weeds, but weeds are really just plants living where we don’t want them. It wouldn’t matter to me if my whole yard was solid with dandelions.

Did you know they were brought to this country by our forefathers? They wanted to be certain they had some “lettuce” and dandelions were known for growing almost anywhere. So our forefathers brought them over and planted them. The dandelions escaped into the wild.

Same thing with the foxes. Fox h1-IMG_4172unting was such a great sport in England and there were no foxes here so they were imported. They escaped and adapted to our area.  They are about the size of a large cat and most people have no idea what they’ve just seen.  It’s nothing to see them living in urban areas.  And it takes very little to tame them, which presents problems.  Anyway, I’m off subject.

Back to Spring.  It’s been a long hard winter in many ways and although March could still send snow flurries our way and behave like a child with a horrible temper, we all know that warmer weather is on its way. There will be days when I can open windows and bring fresh air into the house.

That also means spring cleaning. There’s something about stripping a bed, vacuuming the mattress, and leaving it unmade with windows open and the ceiling fan on. The whole room feels better when the bed is remade with spring linens and a colorful bedspread.  I tend to save that spring cleaning until the end of March or the beginning of April when I see a real change in the weather, but just taking about it makes me want to get started.

The other thing that is coming is fresh produce. I love to grow my own seedlingslettuce and I usually can keep it growing all winter, but this winter was too cold. I’ll probably spend a day setting up all my little outdoor pots with fresh soil and lettuce seeds. There’s something about dirt and seeds. It feeds my soul.

Yes, I’m ready for Spring! I’m ready to welcome some change into my life and climb out from the winter doldrums. Warm breezes, fresh air, colorful flowers…maybe I’ll be making some other changes, because I’ve got some ideas.  It’s time for a fresh start!

Are you ready for Spring?

4 Responses to Spring is Coming

  1. Great blog, E. I too have been getting the ‘spring’ cleaning bug. I put lighter sheets on the bed and have had the windows open all ready. We’ve had a very mild winter and several days that are warm enough to open the windows and let in fresh sunlight, as a friend of mine used to say.

    Like

  2. I bet there are a alot of gardeners cursing the forefathers for the dandelions. Good for making wine though. Foxes can be domesticated, but it takes seven generations. Some Russian scientists have done it. Very interesting study.

    Like

  3. E. Ayers says:

    Foxes are adorable. I’m actually surprised they’ve not been made into pets.

    Like

  4. E. Ayers says:

    We’ve had roller coaster temps here. One day, it’s warm and balmy (70F/20C), and the next, it’s just barely above freezing. Some afternoons you don’t need a coat, but if you’re going to be out for a few hours, bring the heavy winter coat as the temps fall to freezing again. I’m not quite ready to pack up the heavy quilts.

    Like

Leave a Reply

